Witch Hazel!!!!!

witchhazelA year ago, I swore I would not go through another winter without some hope of spring….and it came late (the last week of winter), but it came! The baby Witch Hazel bush is blooming! I’m so excited! It’s the first real splash of color in a drab world with spots of snow still hanging around the yard.

While this one is still a baby, I expect it will grow from a bush into the shape of fine tree as the years pass. Seeing this bloom, I’m convinced I need a few more–maybe in more colors.

The color of the Witch Hazel bush depends upon the time of year it blooms, but I’d take a late spring and a fall just to get a gorgeous red in there!

Some varieties have a strong perfume, but mine does not unless it is cut, and then the smell is slightly medicinal. Not a surprise really, because Witch Hazel is listed as a class 1 drug in the U.S.

So if this winter is getting you down, this spring, try planting a Witch Hazel bush for next winter–the blooms will take your breath away next year!

Happy Gardening!

4 thoughts on “Witch Hazel!!!!!”

  1. Thank you for visiting my blog. I hope you will continue to find articles of interest. I focus on faith, health, supplements, and writing, I don’t have much of a green thumb, but decided to follow you anyway just because I like flowers. The yellow daffodils along the back of the house are in full bloom!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

