King Tut Grass

tutKing Tut grass is an annual up here in zone 5, but I buy it every year because I love this plant! It is an evergreen, so it’s not really a grass, but it certainly looks like a graceful grass.

It can be planted in the ground or in a pot. My father plants his in the yard each year near his front porch. This year, I placed it in a pot with a slight roof overhang above to protect it a bit–I’m so glad I did! With all of the thunderstorms we’ve been having, it could have been damaged this year.

King Tut prefers a sunny to partially sunny area, and it loves water. It does have to be watered every day, unless rain handles it for you.

It can grow quite tall, so it can work to hide unsightly areas around the house.

I have mine planted with a canna, petunias, trailing petunias, and geraniums.  Sadly, it won’t winter over in the house, either, but it’s worth the five dollars I spend each summer!

Happy Gardening!

2 thoughts on “King Tut Grass”

Leave a Reply

