A Dirty Tale From the Garden

russiansageLast summer when my parents were away (they are frequently gone–they tend to travel all over the world), I had agreed to take care of their house. I was suffering from a tremendous migraine, but I still had to go over to their house to make sure everything was running along well and bring in the mail.

They have an extensive garden, and I wandered through to make sure everything was as it should be. From the path, I spied this plant; it was new. The tall purple spikes attracted me, so I wandered over to really investigate it. After a few minutes, I realized the pounding in my head was growing dim. Ah, blessed relief! I did not know what this plant was, but I thought it might be some breed of lavender since that was the only plant I knew of that could help my poor head.

Off to Vite’s Greenhouse we went! Of course, there was no lavender like this, but Mrs. Vite was in her garden, and we began talking about it. She had this plant, too. I was able to point it out, and she was able to tell me: Russian Sage. I left with my own Russian Sage to plant.

It turns out that not only is this plant absolutely stunning, it does have medicinal uses:

  • brings down a fever
  • treats flu and colds
  • soothes an upset tummy

I have not made any compounds, but when I have a raging headache (brought on by sinus or allergies), I retreat to my garden and sit by the Russian Sage.

Russian Sage is not really a sage plant. While some people consider it a perennial, it is a type of sub-shrub. It does well in poor soil and requires little water.

If you are not fortunate enough to get some of the plant from a neighbor or friend, purchase it at a nursery. Keep in mind that the spikes will be tall–it can grow up to four feet.

How to Plant

  • Pick a sunny spot in your garden.
  • Dig a hole a bit wider and deeper than the plant’s roots.
  • Add in a fertilizer.
  • Gently place the plant into the hole.
  • Cover it with soil and water the plant.

Russian Sage is a hardy plant and easy to grow. It does attract butterflies and hummingbirds to your garden, but the deer don’t much care for the plant–a true bonus! The tall blooms also make excellent cut flowers for a vase.

Happy Gardening!

 

Leave a Reply

