The Uninvited

564When I first began growing tomato plants, one of my chief delights was to go and check on them each morning. And then I ran into this.

I’d like to tell you I remained calm and handled it like a pro. But that didn’t happen. What really happened was that I ran off through the yard screaming, which of course, attracted my family.

With everyone around, I was brave enough to take another look. I thought all he needed was a hookah and he’d be in business. He had to go.

So what can you do? I didn’t want to  spray pesticides on my plant. I was planning on eating those tomatoes!

For most bugs, I just add a tablespoon of dish soap to a gallon of water. I put it in a spray bottle and gently mist the plant.

For this guy, my husband hand picked him off of the plant. But just in case, I combined 1 1/2 cups of water, 5531 cup vegetable oil, and 2 teaspoons of dish soap for the tomato plants. That took care of my problem although I still have nightmares about that guy every once in a while.

So, dear readers, what have you used in these situations? what do you think works best?

Happy gardening!

Leave a Reply

